Turkmenchay Agreement 1828

The Treaty of Turkmenchay (ترکمنچای) was an agreement between Gaddafi`s Iran and the Russian Empire, which ended the Russo-Persian War (1826-28). Signed on February 2, 1828 in Torkamanchay, Iran. The treaty gave Persia control of several territories from the South Caucasus to Russia: the Erivan Khanat, the Nakhchivan Khanat and the rest of the Talysch Khanate. The border between Russia and Persia was fixed on the Aras River. The territories are now Armenia, the south of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Nakhchivan and the province of I`dr (now part of Turkey). His Majesty, the Russian Emperor and His Majesty the King of Iran, have accepted eternal peace, friendship and full harmony among themselves, their heirs to the throne, their states and their citizens. At the beginning of the 19th century, the Russian Empire`s struggle with Iran for control of the territories of the historic residence of the Turks of Azerbaijan intensified; and during the two Russo-Persian wars – from 1804-1813 to 1826-1828 – some 20 Azerbaijani khanates were divided between Russia and Iran, said Djamil Gasanli, a doctor of historical sciences, the president of the National Council of democratic forces (NCDF), the correspondent of the “Caucasus knot”. The Torkamanchai Treaty (also written in Turkmanchai, Turkemanchay, Turkamanchay and Turkmanchay) is a treaty by which Iran, after its defeat in 1828, lost much of its northern territories to Russia, thus ending the second Russo-Persian wars (1827-1828). The treaty was signed on 21 February 1828 by Haj Mirza Abol-hasan Khan and Asef ul-dowleh, Chancellor of Fath Ali Shah of Iran, and General Ivan Paskievich, who represented Russia.

By Article 6 of the treaty, Iran promised to pay Russia 10 Koroor in gold (in 1828 currency). From the moment the peace treaty is signed, representatives pass on all the information about the end of the war and all the necessary decrees everywhere. This treaty consists of two copies, signed by the representatives of both parties and confirmed by their official stamp, exchanged, confirmed and ratified by the Majesty of the Emperor of Russia and the Majesty of the King of Iran. The signed texts will be exchanged by representatives of both parties within four months or earlier. The contract was concluded on February 10, 1828. Abstract: Torkamanchai Treaty (also Turkmenchay) of 1828, agreements signed by Russia and Persia in the village of Turkmanchai (Torkaman), Eastern Azarbaijan province, northwest Iran. It ended the Russo-Persian war, which had begun in 1825, and forced Persia to cede part of Persian Armenia to Russia and grant extraterritorial rights. The Turkmenchay Peace Treaty of 1828 divided the territory of the historic residence of Azerbaijanis between Russia and Iran; and the subsequent actions of the Tsarist regime and the Soviet authorities laid the groundwork for the Karabakh conflict, Azerbaijani historians said at the “node of the Caucasus”. Bed.:. Т.

3. Пг., 1917; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: feb-web.ru/feb/griboed/texts/piks3/3_4_v3.htm; История дипломатии. М.; Л., 1945. Т. 3; Туркманчайский мирный договор между Россией и Ираном. 10 февраля 1828 г. // Под стягом России: Сборник архивных документов.